Gruto

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts

Posted 15 July 2010 - 08:38 PM

Posted Image

Posted Image

I'm invited to follow the making of a SB blazer by a young tailor in Copenhagen. Good news, since bespoke tailoring is almost as dead as a dodo in Copenhagen and the rest of Denmark.

What's particulary interesting to me is that the tailor starts with a fitting in a cotton/linen cloth. I have read about that method but never seen it IRL. What do you think of it - how useful is it?

You can see more pictures at http://stiljournalen...mott-del-1.html

Edited by Gruto, 16 July 2010 - 12:10 AM.

--
The Journal of Style

#2 Nishijin

Nishijin

Master

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,704 posts
  • Interests:Mainly tailoring it seems, but my friends know better...

Posted 16 July 2010 - 12:38 AM

I always test my pattern with a muslin when :
- customer has a "difficult" morphology (as I have little experience, this means nearly every customer :hmm: )
- cloth is in limited length so I cannot make a mistake

A muslin fitting is very useful, I know at least one tailor in Paris who use them also. It does not mean first fitting in real cloth will be perfect, but there usually are very little corrections to make.

For women, I would never try without a muslin first.

This being said, I do not use dressmakers' muslin, as this tailor seems to do. I use cheap cloth having a hand more similar to intended cloth.
http://www.paulgrassart.com

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.
Mark Twain

#3 jcsprowls

jcsprowls

Pro

• Super Pro
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,134 posts

Posted 16 July 2010 - 02:47 AM

I prefer muslins, too. Although, I use a similar weight of wool, not cotton to prove the custom pattern.

Dir, Product Development

web: http://www.studio9apparel.com
portfolio: http://www.behance.net/studio9apparel

#4 Sator

Sator

Administrator

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,998 posts

Posted 16 July 2010 - 08:00 AM