18 replies to this topic

#1 Nicolaus

Nicolaus

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 30 September 2009 - 02:07 AM

Ok, so this issue has been bothering me for quite some time. I'm posting in the beginners' section because I'm a beginner, but if moderators think it's advanced enough, then by all means move it.

My question is: why do armscye drafts slope downward toward the front of the shoulder? This illustration I quickly made demonstrates my point.

Yet, as I feel and observe my own shoulder, it seems that it slopes upward from back to front and looks something more like this:

So, am I freak or is there something else happening here?

Also, does this explain why my shoulder always feels like its poking through the front of my jacket instead of sitting in the scye?

#2 greger

greger

Master

• Senior Professional
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,152 posts

Posted 30 September 2009 - 04:03 AM

QUOTE (Nicolaus @ Sep 29 2009, 08:07 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, does this explain why my shoulder always feels like its poking through the front of my jacket instead of sitting in the scye?

This is a fitting problem. The scye is in the wrong place. You probably need a wider back or the front needs to be wider in the scye at the seam that connects to the back. It could be another problem of many. With inlays you can experiment with a number of ideas and reading fitting.

#3 Nicolaus

Nicolaus

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 30 September 2009 - 05:27 AM

QUOTE (greger @ Sep 29 2009, 02:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is a fitting problem. The scye is in the wrong place. You probably need a wider back or the front needs to be wider in the scye at the seam that connects to the back. It could be another problem of many. With inlays you can experiment with a number of ideas and reading fitting.