Photo

Is it a good or bad idea to start with shirts before trousers?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

Poll: Which to make first? Shirts or trousers? (16 member(s) have cast votes)

Which to make first? Shirts or trousers?

1. Shirts (5 votes [31.25%])

Percentage of vote: 31.25%

2. Trousers (8 votes [50.00%])

Percentage of vote: 50.00%

3. Doesn't matter (3 votes [18.75%])

Percentage of vote: 18.75%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 pat

pat

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 March 2016 - 06:08 PM

Hi, I'm a brand newbie. I haven't made any clothes yet.

I've spent the last several hours reading threads on here, including all the stickied threads. I have one major question:

Would it be a good idea or a bad idea to start by making shirts before trousers?

The threads I've read suggest skirt / trousers -> waistcoast -> coat. I've read a lot of threads about shirts, but nothing which suggests where they might fit in terms of learning. I'm mostly interested in shirts... but if the collective wisdom here is that trousers should come before shirts, then that's what I'll do.

Thanks for any advice you can give me :)

p.s. I've added a poll to this topic 

#2 Henry Hall

Henry Hall

Pro

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 840 posts

Posted 26 March 2016 - 07:38 PM

There is a thread somewhere on here where JCSprowls (I think) suggests waistcoat before trousers...so the opinon on progression is not always the same.

With shirts the issue is this: previously a shirt was not a particularly fitted garment, so as long as the collar and sleeve length was good it was fine for them to made up according to a fairly standard draft.