13 replies to this topic

#1 DanielMerrick

DanielMerrick

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:41 AM

Hi all. This is my first post to Cutter & Tailor. I am a young fashion designer who started out in (factory made) suits (of the Greenfield / Primo ""bespoke"" variety) and I've been lurking these fora for quite some time, and it has been an extremely eye opening experience. I've been interested for awhile in taking up the true craft of tailoring and am interested in an apprenticeship of some level.

The greatest difference I've noticed between the suits that I've made and designed and the examples found here, of generally older pieces is the near or complete absence of a technique called "ironwork" where if I'm not mistaken areas of the garment are stretched and shrunk in order to create a more sculpted fit on the finished piece.

I've noticed something unusual in older photographs here (the gelatin silver and sepia prints) such as this one pinched from schneidergott's post in a Coatmaker's thread:

Posted Image

Am I simply making note of print retouching or do these coats have a very rounded, shaped look because more ironwork was used? I have gathered that over the decades cutting has become more and more involved leaving less ironwork for the tailor to do and thus making the process less time comsuming.

Please enlighten me, and please post some images of finished or partially finished or before / after images that will help me understand the technique better.

An additional question:

Can I ironwork an off the rack jacket to be more form-fitting?

Thank you,

DM

#2 J. Maclochlainn

J. Maclochlainn

Master

• Senior Professional
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,112 posts

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:02 AM

I say no, a lot of the shape, especially the fuller chest is done during the under-press and in cooperation of cutting the NP a little crooked. Thus once you impart shape the canvases are cut to the same shape and holds it.