11 replies to this topic

#1 ALoni

ALoni

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 March 2017 - 12:45 AM

Hello, everyone. I have two books for sale that were purchased new by my elderly (96 years old) father R T Loni who was a Master Tailor by trade, based in Greenock (Scotland). I myself am based in Ledbury, Herefordshire.

They are as follows:

1. 'Cutting and Designing for Mens Tailoring', by J Cutler (New Era, 1st edition, c1950) 
  2. 'Ladies Garment Cutting and Making', by F R Morris (with photos/illustrations by Leonora Morris: New Era, 3rd edition, c1950)

The books, and the bindings, are in very nice condition; the second one comes with the original outer protective storage box and page tags. There are no tears/marks/damage/inscriptions.

I have only seen a few copies for sale over the last several years, so they appear to be quite rare - there are currently a couple for sale on ABEbooks, but these are not in as good a condition as these ones.

I have detailed photos showing the condition of each, but the file size is greater than the 150Kb limit allowed. If anyone is interested, I will send the photos by e-mail.

I am open to offers...... Hopefully someone can put these to good use!

Many thanks!

Armando Loni.

#2 Steelmillal

Steelmillal

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 21 March 2017 - 08:42 AM

Brother, keep 'em. Find a conservator to preserve them properly, and put them safely aside for grandkids. If nothing more than a trigger for fireside stories, it makes them priceless. I always think of such things when tools from former trades come my way. Best rgds, AL
  • MANSIE WAUCH, Alfye, cperry and 3 others like this

#3 greger

greger

Master

• Senior Professional
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,115 posts

Posted 21 March 2017 - 09:19 AM