• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 cperry

cperry

Apprentice

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Interests:Fine sewing for children, English smocking, tailoring for women and men

Posted 05 November 2014 - 02:30 AM

I want to share the vest that I have been working on over the past six months with the help of Mansie Wauch from this forum.  Though I've sewn for many years now (oy!), I am new to pattern drafting and somewhat new to tailoring (but dearly want to learn the art).  I drafted a pattern based on a block provided by Mansie, created several toiles, and sent many pictures to Mansie for review and feedback.  I ran into difficulties with adjusting for my husband's prominent shoulder and differences from shoulders to waist.  I made an error in the back width, which resulted in creating a yoke that fitted his back and shoulder slope correctly.  I also struggled through the challenges of making changes without throwing the "balance" of the vest out.  Mansie has been very kind, helpful and encouraging, and I want to publicly say thank you.

The button holes are "thread button holes" by hand.  I studied anything I could find on this forum on the art of buttonholes (from Jeffrey, Goodrich Bespoke) along with instructions within Claire Shaeffer's book, "Tailoring Techniques".  Ladhrann pointed me to Callum at Bay Tailor Supply.  Callum was very helpful with matching the silk twist with the green boiled wool.  I also purchased cosmetic grade bees wax and gimp from him.

Once the button holes were done, I needed to study pockets.  The style of the vest had slashed pockets trimmed with the knit trim only on the bottom.  Again, I found information from this forum and information from Claire Shaeffer's books very helpful.

I have a lot to learn.  I just wanted to say thank you!  I appreciate this forum.

Attached Files

Edited by cperry, 05 November 2014 - 02:39 AM.

• tailleuse, Alfye and Schneiderfrei like this

#2 greger

greger

Master