21 replies to this topic

#1 Kenn

Kenn

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 14 April 2018 - 12:32 AM

May some already know this but others may not, it was certainly a revelation for me.
Cabera's and Poulins book costs 100.00$ on Amazon.
I don't know about you, but that's alot for a book.
So I found them on https://archive.org put them to Adobe Document Cloud, once there downloaded the book and print from there.
For the price of a print cartridge and a pack of paper, it beats 100.00$.

#2 Claire Shaeffer

Claire Shaeffer

Apprentice

• Professional
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Interests:haute couture

Posted 14 April 2018 - 03:02 AM

I am an author and have mixed feelings about sites like archive.org. 

The Poulin book is out of print and has not been revised; however, it's copyright is still valid. However, only used book dealers are selling the book and Poulin or his heirs are not making a profit. If you consider the number of books you buy at a very discounted price, it isn't unreasonable to consider paying more for a book that is relatively rare. 

The Cabrera book has been revised. When you download the original, you are depriving the author of the Revised edition of his royalties. If you've never written a book, you have no idea how much time and effort is involved in addition to the knowledge you bring to the book. I encourage you to give this some thought before you rush to download the Cabrera book. 

Two of my books can be downloaded on another site. One book is in print and the second is out of print. Even so, I own the copyrights for both and am working to have both removed. My books and patterns can be bought on Amazon. I don't receive any royalties from 2ndhand books, but I support the booksellers. 

Claire Shaeffer

• fronno, jeffrey2117, manxd and 1 other like this

Claire Shaeffer

Author, Couture Sewing Techniques

claire.shaeffer@gmail.com

www.sewfari.org

#3 Kenn

Kenn

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts