Photo

Any good tailors in France or passing through France?

• Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1 Virtus

Virtus

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Posted 09 June 2011 - 01:14 AM

Good Evening Gentlemen!

I'm a student in Fashion and Beauty Photography and I have always had a certain vision of style; it is a bit ironic considering that I want to work in the fashion industry but to me garments should be made to last and not necessarily replaced anew every season (for men that is!). As a student I don't have a big budget but I always bought the best quality in all things when I could afford it because I believe that 'He who buys cheap buys several times'.

Right now I need a coat and I'm on what might be considered a low budget, but who knows perhaps someone on this forum will be able to point me into the right direction; my budget is 1000 Euros maximum for a bespoke coat. Now I know this isn't a lot but then I am not one to even consider the more eccentric cloths containing cashmere in such; in fact I want to avoid such cloth, I would like my coat to be tough and hard wearing. As military coats did in the old days it should withstand rain and snow and the wear of many years.

The coat I have in mind would be double breasted, probably black, a very dark grey or a dark blue. I am no expert in cloth but I would think one doesn't need a lot of cloth as I am only 1m74 tall and usually wear size 37 jackets. For the length I would have it as long as is possible without having it touch the ground when I sit on a chair. Lapel holes of course, horn buttons and working cuffs obviously. A breast pocket as well and the two regular pockets on each side. Inside of the coat just one pocket big enough to fit a passport and / or a wallet, I don't need any more pockets. As far as lining goes probably blue or red, I am pretty conservative when it comes to coats.