#1 Alexandros

Alexandros

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 September 2010 - 02:16 PM

Hello Tailors!

Alexandros here, I recently graduated fashion design school and specialized in menswear. My final project was made-to-measure men's suits. Unfortunatly none of my teachers had any idea how to make mens suits so my final year of school was reading old tailoring and pattern making books and educating myself on men's tailoring. Although I have a degree in apparel design and production I feel I am lacking in a tradition mens' tailoring education. I would like to apprentice under a master tailor (here in new york) and eventually if plausible apprentice on Savile Row and eventually work there as well...those are my aspirations anyway.

So, does anyone know of any master tailors in New York that are willing to take an apprentice?

Thanks!
  • Coren likes this

#2 Martin Stall

Martin Stall

Wizard

• PipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts

Posted 14 September 2010 - 06:04 PM

Can't tell you but I do think that you'll be luckier if you'd be prepared to move. It's not an easy position to find.
Sure, I believe your work rocks, but... have you considered, how are you going to sell that stuff?

http: under construction...

#3 Sator

Sator

Administrator

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,998 posts

Posted 14 September 2010 - 07:28 PM

Firms big enough to take on apprentices are rare. I don't believe any of the tailoring stores in NYC belong in this category.

Most bespoke tailoring firms are small operations. It is very difficult to accommodate an apprentice who needs to be shown from scratch what to do. Firstly, it is difficult to pay the apprentice. It is doubly difficult when the apprentice slows the operation down, causing the firm to lose money. Furthermore, most older tailors are old school in that they expect an apprentice to know how to make up a coat before they even start their apprenticeship.