#1 Brent1813

Brent1813

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 November 2014 - 08:51 PM

Dear members,

I'm an assistant professor currently working on an article about young men's fashion at Oxford and Cambridge during the Victorian and Edwardian age. A member of www.askandyaboutclothes.com recommended that I post my question here at Cutter and Tailor.

I've run across an 1870 article from London's The Graphic, which states,

Young Oxford now promenades the avenue in the metropolitan frock coat and Lincoln or P. over-coat without being considered guilty of any infringement of the rules of taste. ("Oxford 669)

Can anyone tell me what "P." is an abbreviation for? A forum member at Ask Andy suggested that "pea coat" actually derives from "P. coat," as the "P" stood for pilot-cloth. Can anyone confirm whether this is true?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Brent Shannon

#2 ChiTownTailor

ChiTownTailor

Apprentice

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Interests:Bespoke tailoring, bespoke shoemaking, bespoke shirtmaking, and all that jazz :-)

Posted 03 November 2014 - 08:28 AM

"According to a 1975 edition of the Mariner's Mirror, the term pea coat originated from the Dutch or West Frisian word pijjekker or pijjakker, in which pij referred to the type of cloth used, a coarse kind of twilled blue cloth with a nap on one side.

Another theory, favoured by the US Navy, is that the heavy topcoat worn in cold, miserable weather by seafaring men was once tailored from "pilot cloth" a heavy, coarse, stout kind of twilled blue cloth with the nap on one side. This was sometimes called P-cloth from the initial letter of pilot, and the garment made from it was called a p-jacket later a pea coat. The term has been used since 1723 to denote coats made from that cloth"

It seems you're on the right track there professor! :) wich of the above is the correct theory? Anyone?

Edited by ChiTownTailor, 03 November 2014 - 08:33 AM.