#1 ventolin

ventolin

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 May 2015 - 12:04 AM

Hi all,

I'm a 27 year old student from Amsterdam, and will be finished with the studies this summer. Currently I'm looking for a work placement as an apprentice, preferably as a cutter, although I would love coat making as well. I've been to London recently, which was really interesting and I've spoken to many tailors on the Row and elsewhere and spent a day at Anderson & Sheppard's. But it seems hard to get in and find a work placement. I've had some offers, but none were fulltime paid apprenticeships. 

Anybody have any tips or advice on companies or places to look? Doesn't have to be in London, I would go anywhere. I just want to find an apprenticeship and be able to learn and improve my skills as a tailor/cutter. 

Much appreciated,

Riekele Scholte

• Schneiderfrei likes this

#2 Martin Stall

Martin Stall

Wizard

• PipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts

Posted 15 May 2015 - 12:57 AM

Hee daar,

I doubt you'll find a fulltime paid apprenticeship anywhere. The old master/apprentice model has pretty much disappeared.

These days, people don't stay in the same job as long as in the past, so a company would effectively be paying you for an education, room, board and and holidays, until such time that you decide to start out on your own or get a job elsewhere. For a company, it's not a help, or an investment, as much as it's a liability.

I think you'll have more success if you approach it the way you would approach studying: you show up, you learn, and in your free time you work some other job to pay your keep.

Sounds harsh, perhaps. But remember that if you stick it out for a few years, you'll be master of a trade that very few people understand, and  that will stay with you for life.

• Der Zuschneider, tailleuse, jeffrey2117 and 2 others like this
Sure, I believe your work rocks, but... have you considered, how are you going to sell that stuff?

http: under construction...