Miekka

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Interests:The finer things in life...

Posted 30 September 2015 - 05:21 AM

Hello everyone,
I'm not sure whether this is this appropriate forum to post in but I'll give it a shot.
I'm an apprentice to master tailor in Rome going on two years now.
I realized that he has no intention of putting me on the payroll as he has a long time worker doing his suits (he pays his worker even for suits that I work on), so I go to the studio and make suits for myself.
To make ends meet I work part time during the weekends which sucks the life out of me because I never have a day to rest, and as a result spend very little time with my wife and newborn son.
I would really like to start working for some clients of my own, even at a lower price point, to turn my tailoring into an actual income and not just a serious hobby.
The problem is that I have no idea where to find these potential clients. I don't want to steal them for moral reasons.
I was hoping that maybe you guys could give me some advice, share some of your own experiences of when you started, or maybe just some encouragement. It's very frustrating putting your heart and soul into something and receiving very little fruit in return.
Thanks in return to anybody who takes the time to answer.

Edited by Miekka, 01 October 2015 - 06:09 AM.

• tailleuse likes this

#2 SPOOKIETOO

SPOOKIETOO

Apprentice

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts

Posted 30 September 2015 - 05:42 AM

Assuming you've thought all of the other business aspects through (where to meet with clients, how to stock notions and supplies, etc.) Why not just set up a website? If you gain just one customer this way - it is one more than you had, and if you get 6 at once - you can control your workload.

After looking at other tailor's work on the internet - I would also suggest you photograph your best work. For example: No sloppy lapels.   

• jeffrey2117 likes this

#3 Miekka

Miekka

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip