20 replies to this topic

#1 Nicolaus

Nicolaus

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 13 September 2009 - 02:03 AM

Well, I'm going to take Sator at his word and ask a dumb question!

I'm a beginner and, unless there's a drastic change, I'm not going to take an apprenticeship. For now, I'm going to remain in the serious amateur category. The problem is that there are many tiny details that (I think) one would learn via an apprenticeship, things that most masters here have so memorized they don't even think about them anymore. Yet, as small as they are, a beginner must still learn them. With that in mind, I'm going to ask my first of a potential series of questions about these small things.

How does one use chalk? Do you use tailors' chalk or those pencils? How/does one sharpen tailors' chalk (mine always gets dull)? Is there a special way to hold the chalk (do I use the corner, or the flat edge)? Is there anything else about chalk that I haven't asked that we should know?

I hope that this isn't too dumb a question and I sincerely look forward to some interesting answers.

#2 Schneidergott

Schneidergott

Master

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,339 posts

Posted 13 September 2009 - 02:52 AM

I use tailor's chalk (the real one made of pressed clay) for marking around the big pattern pieces and coloured pencils (doesn't have to be chalk, actually, any crayon will do) for details like buttonholes and buttons.

How to hold and use chalk?

That depends on the chalk's shape. The one's I've seen are triangle and square.
To use the triangular shape is the easiest, here you can use the edges or the longer sides (there is no really big difference), It's up to you.
The square chalk comes in 2 versions: The common German/ European chalk, where all four edges are flat, so one can basically use all 4 of them.
Then I have seen pieces of chalk offered in the USA where only 2 edges are flat/ sharp.