7 replies to this topic

#1 Emma

Emma

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 March 2018 - 02:16 AM

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting and I'm really sorry to ask what I assume is a silly question but I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong: I have a length of 16oz barathea which when I press I get vertical wrinkles that look rather like human stretch marks. I london shrank it first, resulting in 2% shrinkage in the length and it looked fine, so it must be faulty pressing on my part. I don't have much experience of heavy wool, hoping somebody might be able to explain what's causing this? Thanks so much, any help would be greatly appreciated! Emma

Attached Files

#2 jeffrey2117

jeffrey2117

Journeyman

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Interests:Sewing and tailoring, numismatics, frustrating my assistant by forgetting where I put things when I move them.

Posted 01 March 2018 - 11:13 AM

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting and I'm really sorry to ask what I assume is a silly question but I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong: I have a length of 16oz barathea which when I press I get vertical wrinkles that look rather like human stretch marks. I london shrank it first, resulting in 2% shrinkage in the length and it looked fine, so it must be faulty pressing on my part. I don't have much experience of heavy wool, hoping somebody might be able to explain what's causing this? Thanks so much, any help would be greatly appreciated! Emma

Hello Emma,

Were pressing with steam or dry iron?  What was the condition of the cloth when you pressed it, dry or damp?

Regards

Jeffrey2117

• Schneiderfrei likes this
"An intelligent man knows he is ignorant, a ignorant man knows he is intelligent".

#3 Emma

Emma

Umsie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 March 2018 - 02:38 AM

Hi,